DIY Disney Costume

Do It Yourself Costume – Lilo from Disney’s Lilo & Stitch

It’s Halloween Time at Disneyland, CA! Who wouldn’t be excited especially if there were able to get tickets…lucky…

My luck ran out this year so I won’t be able to go but I thought about my trip to Disneyland last year and man it was a BLAST!

Last year I was able to get tickets to the Disneyland Halloween Party, and was able to go TWICE. (that’s probably why I wasn’t able to go this year. lol)

My only problem was what was I going to wear? :/

It’s been a couple of years since I dressed up for Halloween (I believe I stopped dressing up by the time I was in 7th grade). I used to think dressing up was stupid but I’ve had a change of heart. I think it’s fun and exciting to dress especially if you plan to do something for Halloween!

I wanted to dress up as something I can easily make and not have to spend $50+, have you seen the cost of a costume, geez… So I started looking and thought of Pocahontas (no that takes time to make and I didn’t have that much time) and then Minnie Mouse (my friend ended dressing her) AND THEN the perfect outfit: LILO from Lilo & Stitch.

WhosWhoLilo-1

Materials:

  • Leaf pattern print out
  • White felt paper, 5 – 8 pieces – buy at Walmart, Michael’s, any craft store
  • Fabric tape or glue – Michael’s
  • Red dress – Forever 21

The hardest part of this costume was finding a simple plain red dress…I hunted down many stores and could not find one until I stepped into Forever 21. It was cheap, I think I paid like $15

img-thingHere is the leaf pattern of her dress, it’s easy to find on Google (when you print it out, try enlarging it so it fits the page)

I got out the leaf pattern and then traced it on top of the white felt paper, make about 6 or as many as you need to cover your dress. Then use fabric glue or tape (I used tape and few ends of the leaf kept stick out) to put the pattern on the dress. And then you’re DONE!

20140929_123828

I got a lot of compliments for my costume! It was a fun event! Some pics from the Halloween Party. 
20140930_190340

Leave a Reply

