My First Experience: Traveling to North Carolina – Day 1 & 2

Ever wonder what you see at Wilmington, NC? Check it out.

September 20 – 25, 2016

Day 1:

Flight aprox. 4.5 hours

img_0670Arrived in Raleigh, NC around 6 pm. My actual destination is Wilmington, NC. The airport in Wilmington is too small so the best option I have is Raleigh-Durham International Airport, it’s about a 2 hour drive.

After getting picked up and driving to Wilmington, we stopped at Outback Steakhouse for dinner. Finally got home and relaxed for the rest of the night.

Day 2:

There is a place that seems to be very popular in the Sith, it’s called Waffle House. It’s similar to Ihop or Denny’s but the menu is very simple – eggs, bacon, hash browns, and of course the waffles. I really enjoyed the waffles, it’s not super fat or super crunchy.

After eating we decided to drive around town.

img_0590
From menu: All Star Special

First thing I noticed:

  • No skyscraper buildings. Lots and lots of trees and swamp lands. No traffic.
  • Weather: Right when I stepped outside the first thing I noticed is the humidity. I have lived in Southern California all my life so we don’t have much humidity, it’s always dry heat. I’m not a fan of this weather. I feel like the air is way to heavy and I always feel sticky. PLUS it rains while the sun is out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

We rode on Fort Fisher Ferry. The ferry transports you to and from Southport with the convenience of your car stowed away too. Now I have never seen this type of ferry, it doesn’t exist in CA (if it does then that’s news to me). It’s an easy 35 min boat ride and it’s very smooth.

img_0599

After arriving at Southport, we walked near the coast of the City Pier. img_0674It’s a very small cozy town, I definitely think this would be a great place to getaway, it seems very minimal of people come here. The cutest thing is the swings benches in front of the water. It’s very romantic and relaxing to sit there.

After walking around the town we drove over back to Wilmington. It’s about a 45 minute drive back.

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Once we got back we drove to Wrightsville Beach and honestly it is one of the most beautiful beaches I have been too. The sand is soft and clean with a TON of shells above shore! I’m a big fan of shells and I collect them – especially if they look unique and completely intact. The water is pretty clear, I was able to see a small stingray from a good distance.

IMG_0675.JPG

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

